top of page

European Parliament elects the von der Leyen Commission

European Parliament approved the new Commissioners, presented to plenary by Commission President-elect von der Leyen yesterday.

MEPs approved the new College of Commissioners with 461 votes in favour, 157 against and 89 abstentions.

The AME Secretariat prepared this graphic to provide you the general overview of the new European Commission portfolios and their Commissioners-designate, as well as their official services and most recent responsibilities:

The new Commissioners will be in charge of making decisions on key EU strategies and policies, propose laws, funding programmes and annual budgets for discussion and adoption by Parliament and the Council.

Former Italian Prime Minister Paolo Gentiloni is designated to become the Commissioner for the Economy. His responsibilities will include finding agreement on digital tax at international level, leading efforts on the Common Consolidated Corporate Tax Base and fighting tax fraud.


bottom of page